Which divisions of the PNS is responsible for motor innervation of smooth muscle cardiac muscle and glands?

Which part of the nervous system Innervates smooth muscle cardiac muscle and internal organs?

Autonomic motor nerves innervate organs whose functions are not usually under voluntary control . The effectors that respond to autonomic regulation include cardiac muscle ( the heart ) , smooth ( visceral ) muscles , and glands .

What are the motor divisions of the PNS?

The PNS consists of 2 divisions, the afferent (sensory) division which sends sensory information towards the CNS, and the efferent (motor) division, which conveys motor commands from the CNS to the effector targets (cells, tissues..etc). The PNS allows the CNS to communicate with the external environment.

What division Innervates smooth muscle?

Vascular smooth muscle is primarily innervated by the sympathetic nervous system. Alpha-1 and alpha-2 receptors function to cause vasoconstriction by contracting vascular smooth muscle cells leading to systemic hypertension.

What division of the PNS is responsible for the movement of muscles?

The somatic nervous system is a component of the peripheral nervous system associated with the voluntary control of the body movements via the use of skeletal muscles.

What are the two main division of nervous system?

The nervous system has two main parts: The central nervous system is made up of the brain and spinal cord. The peripheral nervous system is made up of nerves that branch off from the spinal cord and extend to all parts of the body.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What type of motor is most commonly used on a ships crane system?

What are the 7 major peripheral nerves?

Nerves In the Peripheral Nervous System

  • Brachial plexus (radial nerve, median nerve, ulnar nerves)
  • Peroneal nerve (foot drop)
  • Femoral nerve.
  • Lateral femoral cutaneous nerve.
  • Sciatic nerve.
  • Spinal accessory nerve.
  • Tibial nerve.

What is the main function of smooth muscle?

The primary function of smooth muscle is contraction. Smooth muscle consists of two types: single-unit and multi-unit. Single-unit smooth muscle consists of multiple cells connected through connexins that can become stimulated in a synchronous pattern from only one synaptic input.